By the end of 1951, the boundaries of all Affiliated Associations were confirmed, every part of New Zealand now being within the boundary of an Association.


This year presented the first divided tournaments with Auckland staging the First and Third Grades, and Rotorua hosting the Second Grade.


The question of changing over to seven-a-side rules was again raised, and rejected.


A team selected from the Minor Associations toured Fiji on a goodwill mission which also included follow-up coaching and refereeing. A proposed visit to Australia, scheduled for 1955, was cancelled until the rules became more uniform. It was deemed the nine-a-side version suited New Zealand conditions and until such time as there was an international game, they were not prepared to change.


The year was marked with a first visit to New Zealand by a team from Fiji. The visitors travelled throughout most of the country, visiting 18 Associations for matches while also playing six games at the New Zealand Tournament in Greymouth.

A meeting was held in England to discuss the establishment of an international body. New Zealand was represented by Natalie Wicken (nee Nicholls) who was a member of the 1948 New Zealand team and teaching in England at the time. From this meeting, a set of Playing Rules was drawn up and all countries were asked to try them out.


The New Zealand Council unanimously agrees to adopt the proposed International Rules and the New Zealand Tournament is played under nine-a-side rules for the last time.

It was decided to include a Fourth Grade at the New Zealand Tournament.


In regards to the increasing numbers wanting to play in the New Zealand Tournament, Associations were asked to consider the complete re-organisation of both Tournament and Council.